Home

Giveaways!!!

Leave a comment

Hi everyone! In other countries it’s still the 28th of February but from where I am it’s already the 1st of March! Whew, time flew by so fast! Anyway, our blog, Musings of the Book-a-holic Fairies is celebrating its first year blog-a-versary and we are giving away tons of goodies! Check this out:

giveaway

Pretty awesome right? I would love to win one of those! Unfortunately, I can’t join the raffle because I’m one of the fairies. That’s good though, more prizes for you all! On top of that, we are also giving away $10 AMAZON GC AND 20 $5 AMAZON GCS!!! Click here to join the giveaway. Giveaway ends on March 2, 2015.

Novel

Advertisements

Birthday Giveaway!!!

Leave a comment

Hi guys!

Tomorrow is my birthday, (in some countries it already is!) so, my friends at the Musings of a Book-a-holic Fairies are doing a giveaway in my honor, yay! Just please click the banner for more info. You can win an ebook of your choice from Amazon worth $2.99. =)

10612891_692250640870851_7703351842152890395_n

Good luck and thanks for dropping by!

Novel

Back-to-back Giveaway: ROWDY by JAY CROWNOVER and STONE COLD TOUCH by JENNIFER L. ARMENTROUT!!!

Leave a comment

YELLOW AND GOLD

CLICK THE BANNER FOR MORE INFO

Hello October!!!

Leave a comment

I woke up early today and I can already feel the change in the temperature… Winter is coming! In the Philippines, people are starting to put up their Christmas decors and playing their favorite Christmas songs. Here in KSA, it’s business as usual. LOL. We had a 5-day vacation to celebrate the Eid, so, I pretty much slept and read the days away. Anyway, i’m back at work so , yeah…boring.

On our other blog, my friend Rock Chick Fairy is giving away 2 ebook sets written by Kristen Ashley. She’s a huge fan so she’s doing the giveaway once a month (I think). Please click the banner to be redirected to the raffle.

banner newStill on books, I recently read and reviewed a YA fiction that I really enjoyed. It’s a tearjerker, so prepare tissues should you wish to read it. Fans of The Fault in Our Stars and A Walk to Remember might enjoy this book. It’s Love and Other Unknown Variables by Shannon Alexander.

love and other unknown variables 1600x2400

The author is currently doing a giveaway as a part of her blog tour. The prizes are awesome! Click here to join the giveaway. =)

Have a great day everyone!

Novel

Book Review: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Leave a comment

eleanorpark

4.5/5 Stars!

Awww, this book is so freaking beautiful! I heard a lot of good things about this book but I never got the time to read it until it was chosen as the book of the month in our reading group in goodreads. My expectations about this book is quite high because I learned that this book was recommended by John Green, and you know how much I love JG! Anyway, I’m happy to say that the book did not disappoint.

Eleanor & Park is a story about two students in Omaha, Nebraska back in 1986. Park is a half-Korean, comic collector and a music enthusiast while Eleanor is the new white kid in school which everyone seems to dislike. Park felt out of placed because of his Korean features, Eleanor on the other hand is unhappy with her figure and her bloody red hair. While Park’s home life is happy and satisfactory, Eleanor’s was crappy and oh so horrible. Despite their differences the two found something in each other while they ride the bus to and from school.

So, what did I like in this book? Tons! First of all, I loved how the relationship between the two developed. It wasn’t instant. What they have is an innocent and sweet kind of relationship, it was so cute. They are just perfect for each other. I loved how Park throws bits of kindness to Eleanor’s way when they are together, because that little bit of kindness made a lot of difference in Eleanor’s day. If Park is kind, Eleanor is such a brave character. For me, she’s a bad-ass. Despite how she was treated both in home and school, she still have the energy to wake up each morning and face those horrible people every freaking day. She can even do it with an empty stomach, how bad-ass is that?

‘In big family,’ she said, ‘everything … everybody spread so thin. Thin like paper, you know?’ She made a tearing gesture. ‘You know?’

I could have quoted one of so many cute and sweet dialogues between Eleanor and Park but Mindy’s (Park’s mom) emotional break down after seeing Eleanor and her family in the grocery store almost made me cry. Yup, surprisingly, the book didn’t made me cry! It made me feel warm and fuzzy inside though. Anyway, I felt my heart clench when Mindy broke down and tried to explain to Park how she can relate to Eleanor’s situation. If Mindy was born after the Korean War, and with a large family like she had, it must have been really hard for her parents to feed them all. It was an eye-opening moment for Mindy because of all people, she should be the last one to judge Eleanor because of her appearance and where she came from. Eleanor looks the way she is not because she wanted to but because she doesn’t have a choice. That part is just, ahhhhhh, very heart warming.

So why I didn’t give it a perfect 5-star rating? The book was set in 1986…I was born in 1987. There are a few references in there that I didn’t get at all. I had to stop reading and search some facts over the internet. I love the music though. Eleanor wasn’t the only one who learned stuff about music in this book, I did too!

Let’s talk about the ending. Unlike most of the people who read the book, I’m pretty much satisfied with how things ended. It’s an HEA, what more can I ask for? I think it’s realistic that it took Eleanor almost a year to send him a postcard because I believe emotionally wounded people like Eleanor needs time to recover before entering into a relationship again. I think, Eleanor needed to feel whole again before she can share herself to the person she cared the most—and I liked that. You know the saying: “It gets worse before it gets better.”? That’s exactly what happened to Eleanor and Park.

Overall, the book is such an amazing read. I highly recommend it to people who love to read YA contemporaries. For people who read and loved Eleanor & Park, I recommend the following books to you:

Sophie & Carter by Chelsea Fine
Heart in a Chain by Cindy Bennett (this one is very similar to Eleanor & Park’s story, but I think this one is more intense because It made me bawl like a baby).
Callum & Harper by Fisher Amelie.

Happy Indulgence

Book review blog from Australia featuring young adult reviews and discussions.

DIY, Food Preservation, Gardening, Frugality, Home Cooking, & More

Suburban Homesteading & Frugal Living with a Twist!

Bag Full of Rocks

My rocks are the memories from different adventures. I thought I would just leave this bag here.

Through Open Lens

Home of Lukas Kondraciuk Photography

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

Samantha In London

Travel Blogger turned Londoner

Keisari Spontaanius

No-bullshit spontaneous travel blog

JFAB

Live A Curious Life

The world is my museum

and I admire every painting

Love Travelling

Travel diaries providing inspiration for planning the perfect trip

My Girls On Tour

Fashion & Travel Blog by Abigail Royston